Each year the Monroe County Historical Association recognizes an educator who works to promote, protect and preserve Monroe County’s rich history for the next generation.

The Education Committee of the MCHA is accepts nominations for this prestigious honor. Nominees must be currently employed by a school located in Monroe County.

The award recipient must exhibit the following criteria:
  • Promote the importance of the role of local history as a vehicle in facilitating students’ understanding of the development of our state and nation
  • Participate in programs offered by the MCHA
  • Demonstrate support for the use of the resources of the MCHA in the learning environment
  • Encourage professional development among colleagues by promoting the resources of MCHA
  • Evidence creative use of the resources of the MCHA by individual students and small groups.
Nominations are accepted at the end of each year, and the award is presented at the MCHA’s Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon in February.

Recognition Program

Monroe County Historical Association
2015 | Dr. Irene Duggins
    East Stroudsburg Area School District
2013 | Dr. Elizabeth Bugaighis
    Northampton Community College
2012 | Dr. Martin Wilson
    East Stroudsburg University
2011 | Dr. Linda Rogers
    East Stroudsburg University
2010 | Mrs. Julie Kresge
    Pleasant Valley School District
2009 | Mr. Mark Lemoncelli
    Pocono Mountain School District
570 421 7703 or Contact Us
All text and images from the Monroe County Historical Association website are copyrighted and may not be downloaded, reproduced, published, displayed, printed, or posted elsewhere on the internet for any purpose without permission from the Monroe County Historical Association.